My Account

For Adults

If You Like Gaming


07/06/2022 | If You Like

An assortment of board games.

If you enjoy board, card, and dice games, you are in luck! Many exciting and original games have been invented in the last twenty years! The Library has books, programs, and gaming recommendations for tabletop gamers of all ages!


New York Times Crossword & Games

Did you know that your library card gives you free 24-hour access to the New York Times crossword puzzle and other games? You must first create a New York Times account if you don’t already have one.

The New York Times Crossword Puzzle
  1. Visit The New York Times: Crossword & Games.
  2. Enter your library card barcode number and click "Get Code."
  3. Click “Redeem” to submit your randomly generated access code.
  4. Since you need to have a New York Times online account to use the code, the next step prompts you to create an account, which is free, or to log in to your existing account.
  5. You now have access to the New York Times for 24 hours. After the 24 hours are up, you may redeem another code for 24-hour access. Enjoy!

Programs

photo of board games at Central Library Family Game Night

Teen Intro to Dungeons & Dragons
Schedule & Register
Have you ever wanted to learn to play Dungeons & Dragons? Do you already play and want to find more people interested in the game? Join us to learn the basics from dice to pre-generated characters. All materials are provided. You only need to bring yourself! Registration is recommended.

Central Library Family Game Nights Presented by The Learning Curve
Schedule
Bring a friend, play a game, and have fun! Over 100 board, card, dice, and giant-size games for gamers of all ages! Learning Curve staff will guide the way and answer questions! Recommended for ages 5+, All gamers under 12 need to bring an adult. Located in the Atrium. No registration is required.

East 38th Street Gaming for Adults
Schedule and Register
Adults ages 50+ are invited to get together at the library to play cards, chess, dominoes, Uno, or any game in our collection from Clue to Carcassonne. Choose from old favorites or try something new. Don't know how to play something that interests you? Instructions for board games are provided.

Glendale Teen Dungeons and Dragons
Schedule
Teens are invited to participate in this cooperative storytelling game. Attendees will play characters in this all-ages adventure, becoming the heroes of the story. Characters and materials will be provided. No registration is required.

Haughville Game Night
Schedule
Families and children of all ages are invited to drop in any time to make new friends while playing board games or solving puzzles. Games and puzzles will be provided.

Irvington An Afternoon of Spooktacular Table Top Games
Saturday, October 8 from 2-4 p.m. Register
Join us for a horror themed afternoon of table top gaming! No experience necessary. The rules will be taught. Open to teens 12 + and adults. Learn to play horror themed variants of Fluxx (the ever-changing card game), Munchkin (the humorous, card-based dungeon crawler), and Zombie Dice!

Martindale-Brightwood Family Game Night
Schedule and Register
Join us for games and puzzles and family fun in a safe setting.

Southport Family Game Day
Schedule
Families and children of all ages are invited to drop in any time to make new friends while playing board games or solving puzzles. Games and puzzles will be provided. No registration is required.


Six Game Night Favorites from IndyPL Staff

Here are six game night favorites from the Learning Curve’s collection. If you would like to try out these games and more, be sure to drop in for a Family Game Night at Central soon!

Hoot Owl Hoot! Recommended ages: 4+
Do you love Candyland? Or…are you tired of playing Candyland?! While Candyland is a classic which is available to play, you may also enjoy this colorful game. All players are on one team working together to help baby owls return to their nest before the sun comes up. You will still use color cards to move the pieces, but you will also have interesting choices to make along the way!

Dr. Eureka Recommended ages: 6+
This fast-paced puzzle game has players racing to pour colorful balls back-and-forth between plastic test tubes to recreate specific patterns! If you can mix and match the contents of your test tubes the fastest, you can score points by winning cards! If you accidently spill the “chemicals” you get to try again on the next card. If you like a little time pressure, this one is for you!

Pentago Recommended ages: 7+
Are you a master of tic-tac-toe? You are ready to level up to Pentago! In this two-player game, you compete to get five marbles in a row—with a twist! After placing a marble, you must rotate one quadrant of the game board ninety degrees. You can only win if you have five-in-a-row, after the twist!

Battle Sheep Recommended ages: 7+
If you like a little strategy, a fun challenge can be had with Battle Sheep! In this game, you start with one stack of sheep in the pasture, and each turn you split a stack and slide some sheep to a new position. If you can spread your flock out across the pasture the most, you will be the winner! Easy to learn, difficult to master!

Forbidden Island Recommended ages: 8+
In this cooperative game, you must work together to find clues, discover ancient treasures, and make it back to your team helicopter--all before the island sinks below the waves forever! With multiple ways to lose and only one way to win, it will take clever teamwork and a little luck to succeed at this mission! While you play, you can discuss your options and strategize with your teammates. Everyone wins or loses together!

Ascension Recommended ages: 10+
In many card games, everyone shares the same deck of cards. In Ascension, each player has their own small deck. By playing your starting cards carefully, you can add powerful new cards to your deck that you shuffle in and play on later turns! This fun game has a light fantasy theme, but your real goal will quickly become to collect as many of the shiny red gems as possible!

These games and more can be played at Family Game Night at Central! Currently hosted on Tuesday nights from 5:30pm-7:30pm, this weekly program is updated online in the IndyPL Events calendar and does not require pre-registration.

These game recommendations were contributed by Christopher Brozo, a Youth Multimedia Learning Specialist in the Learning Curve at Central Library. He loves tabletop games of all kinds, especially strategy and cooperative games! He co-hosts Family Game Night at Central, a weekly program for kids, families, and friends. Do you have a favorite game? Be sure to tell the guy who is wearing a black Learning Curve lab coat and practicing yo-yo tricks.


e-Books & Streaming

OverDrive has a wide selection of e-books and downloadable audiobooks in their Games collection. They also have a large variety of e-magazine in their Tech & Gaming e-magazine collection including Minecraft World Magazine, World of Puzzles Magazine, PC Gamer Magazine, and Retro Gamer Magazine. If you have never borrowed from OverDrive before both app directions and browser directions are available as well as a video tutorial and Overdrive Support.

  • Download OverDrive's Libby App on the App Store
  • Download OverDrive's Libby App on Google Play
OverDrive Gaming Screenshot

Need more help? Ask a Library staff member at any of our locations or call, text or email Ask-a-Librarian. The Tinker Station helpline at (317) 275-4500 is also available. It is staffed by device experts who can answer questions about how to read, watch and listen on a PC, tablet or phone.


Reading Recommendations from IndyPL staff

Click on a featured booklist to get gaming reading recommendations or see all our staff gaming lists here.

Book List: Graphic Novels for Tabletop RPG Fans
Book List: Worlds of Final Fantasy
Book List: Adventures in LARPing
Book List: Resources for Playing Dungeons & Dragons
Book List: Chess-themed Thrillers
Book List: Gear Up for GenCon
Book List: Hollywood Video Game Movies

For Fans of Dungeons and Dragons

For Fans of Dungeons and Dragons
This list includes rule books, guide books, inspiration books, resources for running your very own game, and also fiction books inspired by the world of D&D.